New Rockford student named SADD National Student of the Year;

BISMARCK, N.D. (May 9, 2018) – Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) announced today that Lauren Roscoe of New Rockford, N.D., has been named the 2018-19 SADD Student of the Year (SOY). Roscoe will receive the SOY Scholarship for $1,000 and is eligible for a leadership experience at the Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in Washington, D.C., in the summer of 2019. SADD promotes resiliency, leadership and advocacy skills to young people around the areas of youth leadership development, traffic safety, personal health and safety, and substance abuse.

Chosen from a nationwide pool of highly qualified applicants, Roscoe joins five other students who make up the 2018-19 Student Leadership Council and will represent more than 500,000 active SADD students from across the country. She has been a member of SADD for six years and currently serves on the SADD Advisory Board for New Rockford-Sheyenne Public Schools.

In recognition of Roscoe’s accomplishment, Gov. Doug Burgum and First Lady Kathryn Helgaas Burgum will host a celebratory event from 4:30 to 5:00 p.m. Tuesday, May 15, in Memorial Hall of the State Capitol. The event will feature remarks from the governor and first lady, Roscoe, Birt and North Dakota Department of Transportation Director Thomas Sorel.